The Old House


I like dwelling into history (although that was never a favourite subject of mine back in my school days – I blame the boring teacher that I had!) but one cannot forget ‘history’ as that is what has made us and will continue to do so.

This sketch/drawing you see on the right, was done when I was watching a DVD set in the old days, on DVD. My eldest son was doing some drawing and he had his felt-tips and paper out. I took a paper from him and borrowed his artist pens! And I began this picture at first, by drawing the road, then the hills and the outhouse.

I thought of dark roads and a lonely house one passes on the English country road, in the middle of nowhere. I thought the perfect setting would be a low sunset, darkening the surroundings gradually that the headlights have to be put on, from a passing car.

It is winter, the trees are derelict of their leaves, casting a skeletal shadow as a cat, sitting on the rooftop of a house, which seems inviting, watches the car drive.

This drawing makes me feel I am back in Old England, in the rural countryside. I imagine a fire roaring inside, with a family of a Ma, Pa, five children, a grandmother and a dog and a cat. It is supper time, and they sit at the table whilst Ma serves warm dinner as the dog sleeps and the cat sits on the roof.

But something sinister is lurking outside…

….

I would like to invite you all to perhaps add to this story and drawing or tell one your own, a small paragraph? What does the picture say to you?

One thought on “The Old House”

  1. I stand outside the barren house, a place I once lived. A stray black cat has claimed it as its own. That’s fine with me. I don’t need anyone keeping my old house in shape. If the walls crumbled to the ground tomorrow, I’d shrug my shoulders with indifference. But the silence gets to me. The mere sound of the wind whistling through the grass isn’t enough to satisfy me and makes me feel on edge. If there were anything I missed about this place, it would be the sounds of the ones I kidnapped and tortured here before ending their lives. I miss their screams.

    Another happy freewrite brought to you by Sunny Delight! The juice for every happy occasion! :)

    (Honestly! I don’t know where that hideous side of me came from! Sorry if it disturbed you!)

    -Ezra Barany
    Author of the Award-Winning
    Bestseller The Torah Codes

Leave a Reply

