Elephants and work


When I see pictures like this, I think of the animals that ‘work’ and I wonder if they are ‘paid’. When I mean payment, I mean are these elephants  fed well and looked after and treated fine? I would like to think so.

I painted this picture for two reasons:

1. I love elephants – they nature, their abslute strength and their personalities.

2. I wanted to show how these animals are ‘worked’.

The picture actually was dull and non-inviting so I painted it in vibrant colours and added texture and some ‘personality’.

It was painted in oils and took me a long time to perfect but I finally got the result I was looking for.

I would value some comments on the painting and on the issue of working animals.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

