The Reason for Peace


http://theindieexchange.com/may-2013-tie-mini-book-tour/

 

Today I am introducing Deboarah Carney who talks of her theme and reason for her book Buddha. 

One chilly January day in 2012, I was walking with my daughter and grandson along a creek in Sedona, Arizona. I was intrigued because on the map that we were given when we came into the park, Crescent Moon Ranch, there was a location called “Buddha Beach”. I wondered what that was and if I would know it when we got to it.

A little bit of back story here, I had two sons that passed away. One died after a car accident in 2002 and one from a heart attack in 2006.  I’ve been kind of a mess but have been in a better place the last couple of years. Still, I needed to find more peace. I heard that Sedona was a spiritual place and they have vortexes of energy that help many people heal. The park we were walking through had such a vortex.

Through the years I have come across quotes and bits of wisdom that helped me think. Many were quotes by Buddha. As we walked along Oak Creek, I was trying to be in tune with the energy that was supposed to be there and also looking out for this beach. We turned a corner in the path and there it was. Hundreds of rock cairns, short and tall, colorful and whimsical, or gray and stately. I felt very peaceful and started to take photographs of the “Buddhas”, which were mostly shaped like the Buddhas you see in stores and stories, with wide bases tapering down to smaller tops.

There was a woman walking through with a friend and she explained that the buddhas were built by people and then others would come and add to them or change them around, making it a living garden of rocks. I knew immediately that this would be a book, pairing the rock cairn photographs with quotes from Buddha. It felt right. I have a series of several books currently planned, Volume 1 has been well received and I am getting good feedback from it that people are using it as I hoped they would. The underlying purpose to the books is to instill a feeling of peace, to find your Buddha, and to contemplate the quotes. Volume 2 and 3 will also have Buddha quotes paired with the photos, but other books in the series will start to speak about what I have felt while there – Balance.

The rock cairns aren’t all pretty and perfect and you can see where some have fallen, which pretty much goes along with how life is. Life isn’t all pretty and perfect, and sometimes something comes along to knock us down. And then there are the people that help us put things back together and move on.

“We are where we are supposed to be, when we are supposed to be there” – Deborah Carney, 2012.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Thank you Deborah for this lovely post and I for one, will want to read your book. If you would like to know more about Book 1, just click on this link!

To know more about the author, click on her Facebook Page:

https://www.facebook.com/TheSouthWestGallery

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Now, fun time! Click on the link below to uncover this missing piece of the jigsaw puzzle:

bud

http://www.proprofs.com/games/jigsaw/cover-reveal-puzzle/

Leave a Reply

