NEW BOOK LAUNCH BY JULIET B MADISON


Today I’m delighted to welcome Juliet B Madison back to my blog to talk about her new book Incarnate Justice, the first title in her new paranormal crime Psychic CID series, which was released on 23rd November.   Over to you Juliet.

Thanks Malika.

I’ve had an interest in the paranormal ever since I can remember, but I’ve only really felt able to explore it in the last seven years since my boyfriend, David’s death. As a kid I loved ghost stories, yet the idea of seeing ghosts never scared me. I’m sensitive to spirits, although I can’t actually see them, and I attend my local spiritualist church when time permits (which isn’t nearly as often as I might like).

My first police procedural novel was originally intended to have a psychic dimension to it, but I went off that idea as I then had no experience of the technicalities of writing police procedurals and so I wasn’t sure I could manage to cope with two heavy storylines. I retained one aspect of spirituality in the DI Lyle series as there was a Hindu detective, DS Sunil Desai, and a couple of the characters are Christians, but that was as much as I could cope with. Now that I have more experience of police procedural writing I am now confident I can blend the two themes and subgenres.

In actual fact Malika was a tremendous help to me during the writing of the DI Lyle books since I asked her so many questions about Hindu culture and beliefs in order to make DS Desai authentic and, later, his widow Almira and young son.

Incarnate Justice is a story I have wanted to tell for a very long time and I’m so excited to have finally written it.

The book, which is set in the future – 2040 to be exact – tells the story of a young plain clothes police officer who feels an inexplicable connection to a young murder victim from the past, whose remains have just been found.

Here is the blurb

In 2015 thirteen-year-old Ellen Shaw disappeared without a trace. No traces of her alive or dead were ever found and the police dismissed a Psychic’s help.

In 2040 the recently formed Psychic CID are called in to investigate when decomposed human remains are found.  The original Missing Person case files yield no clues

Newly promoted DS Joe Lamont has been plagued by disturbing dreams since his early teens and he feels a connection to Ellen that he can’t explain.

 Will Lamont’s intuition prove to be a hindrance or a help and can Psychic CID solve the case and get to the truth about what really happened to Ellen?

 

While a lot more people in my alternate future appear to be more in tune with the psychic world than at present, there are still characters who only tolerate the existence of Psychic CID, the most notable being Dr Monica Kaufman, the forensic pathologist, who is totally closed off to the psychic world and believes that medicine and science can explain everything. I created her so that tension could be built between characters as conflict is essential to a good plot. There will be many verbal battles between Dr Kaufman and DI Lynch during the series.

The paranormal genre is saturated with books involving zombies, vampires, witches and shifters, so I thought that cops with psychic powers might be an interesting alternative. Time will tell if that makes a difference.

There will be 5 titles in the Psychic CID series, one set around each of the main Psychic CID characters. New recruit DS Joe Lamont is the focus of Incarnate Justice in more ways than one.

As the series is set in the future it means I can be somewhat inventive without being criticised as no one knows what will be possible twenty-five years from now. Any forensic or police procedural matters are based on research and what I have already learnt as a crime author so far.

LINKS

Buy Incarnate Justice

Kindle

Kobo,

itunes

Nook

Psychic CID social media links

You can  Like the Official Psychic CID Facebook page

You can Follow Psychic CID on Twitter

You can visit the Official Psychic CID website

You can also buy Incarnate Justice via the “Shop now” button on the Psychic CID Facebook page

 

3 thoughts on “NEW BOOK LAUNCH BY JULIET B MADISON”

Leave a Reply

