Book Spotlight – Rebecca Taylor


Today, I am hosting Rebecca Taylor, who will be talking how she came to publish her book The Moderna Way, and how she didn’t quit dreaming. Over to you, Rebecca!

DREAMS CAN COME TRUE

21441234_10155103859968681_969323419_oDo you have dreams in your life that you keep hoping will come true? Besides, winning the lottery that is, I think many of us have that dream but it comes down to the luck of the draw. For dreams, which are not dependent on luck, you have the power to make them come true.

These past few months, I have been working to make some of my dreams come true.  My dream included getting my writing published. I have loved writing since before I could even properly put the words on paper.

When I was twelve years old, my first poem was published. Since that time, I have continued to devote myself to my writing and have had the opportunity to have poems and short stories published by many online and print publications. Some of my favourite projects include my children’s short stories, and novels. I have sent these projects to many publishers but for the most-part I got back standard rejection notices, and as per some publishers’ policies, no answers came at all.

However, I did not allow myself to become discouraged. I continued to dream. I found a few online platforms that allowed me to write for others and that work and the feedback that I received, helped to fuel my continued dream of publishing my works under my own name. Then, I discovered Createspace and Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP), which allowed me to take control of my dream.

I recently published my novel “The Moderna Way” as both an e-book and paperback. There was no better feeling that holding the paperback in my hands and finally being able to have people read it in book form, in the way that I love to read my favourite authors’ stories. I am now working on getting one of my children’s stories “Finding My Blue Ribbon Pet” ready for distribution. I am hoping that it will be on the market in time for Christmas.

My accomplishments go to prove that if you are willing to work hard, that you can make your dreams come true. Never let someone tell you that you cannot accomplish your dreams, because chances are there is a way out there that will allow you to succeed. It might not happen in the way that you expected, but with some work and an open mind, anything is possible.

Some of my writing (including some free stories) can be found online at:

I wish you a month of dreams and happiness.

Leave a Reply

